Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs
 
914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!
 
Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
 

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Boxster "S" 6 speed trans
partwerks
post Oct 5 2019, 02:50 PM
Post #1


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,219
Joined: 7-September 06
From: Grand Island, NE
Member No.: 6,787



The Boxster "S" 6 speed trans, that is used with the LS3 engine. Are all of the transaxles geared differently, or all the same?


Is anyone else running the Boxster "S" 6 speed, with an LS engine?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tygaboy
post Oct 5 2019, 03:38 PM
Post #2


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,412
Joined: 6-October 15
From: Petaluma, CA
Member No.: 19,241
Region Association: Northern California



The Boxster S trans is the G86-20. All of those have the same gearing. I have an LS3 with that trans. Tony @Cracker runs an LS7 with his. No issues with over 500 hp.
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cracker
post Oct 5 2019, 07:21 PM
Post #3


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,021
Joined: 2-February 10
From: Atlanta (area)
Member No.: 11,316
Region Association: South East States



Lyle,

I replied to your PM...the system is amazing -just not cheap. You will not be disappointed if you choose to move forward. The gearing, like Chris said, is the same. All G86-20 boxes have an open diff. I had a Guard LSD installed in mine which cost over twice what I paid for the box. If it is a street car - no biggie - if it is a serious track car - it is a big deal. Best wishes!

Tony

Attached Image

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
partwerks
post Oct 5 2019, 08:48 PM
Post #4


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,219
Joined: 7-September 06
From: Grand Island, NE
Member No.: 6,787



QUOTE(Cracker @ Oct 5 2019, 05:21 PM) *

Lyle,

I replied to your PM...the system is amazing -just not cheap. You will not be disappointed if you choose to move forward. The gearing, like Chris said, is the same. All G86-20 boxes have an open diff. I had a Guard LSD installed in mine which cost over twice what I paid for the box. If it is a street car - no biggie - if it is a serious track car - it is a big deal. Best wishes!

Tony

Attached Image



Nothing is needed for support on the back end of the trans?

How heavy of springs are you using, and how long are they?

I would just need to change the shifter cables, and not necessarily the main body of the shifter?

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ClayPerrine
post Oct 5 2019, 09:10 PM
Post #5


Wasting away again in NineFourteenerville.
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 10,188
Joined: 11-September 03
From: Hurst, TX.
Member No.: 1,143
Region Association: NineFourteenerVille



I have a 2006 Cayman S G86-21 trans in my car. It shifts great, once you get the cables adjusted properly.

I don't like the trans mount in the last picture. That cantilevers the transmission mounting points, so eventually it is going to break. The mounts bend up under hard acceleration, and down under engine braking. That puts metal fatigue into them. If you are using a Boxster shifter, everything should hook up with the cables. Mine are custom so I can keep what looks like a factory shifter.

Here are some pictures of the mount in my car.

(IMG:http://www.914world.com/bbs2/uploads/post-1143-1565317056.jpg)

(IMG:http://www.914world.com/bbs2/uploads/post-1143-1565317066.jpg)

You could do something similar, but move the mounting points to make the V8 fit.



User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
partwerks
post Oct 5 2019, 09:50 PM
Post #6


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,219
Joined: 7-September 06
From: Grand Island, NE
Member No.: 6,787



Any pictures of what trans mount Renegade Hybrids is using??
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Joemo5
post Oct 5 2019, 10:33 PM
Post #7


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 54
Joined: 1-April 18
From: Charlotte, North Carolina
Member No.: 22,011
Region Association: South East States



QUOTE(partwerks @ Oct 5 2019, 11:50 PM) *

Any pictures of what trans mount Renegade Hybrids is using??


I'm pretty sure it's the one that Cracker is using, shown in the pics above.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cracker
post Oct 6 2019, 06:56 AM
Post #8


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,021
Joined: 2-February 10
From: Atlanta (area)
Member No.: 11,316
Region Association: South East States



1) If there IS one downside of the Renegade mount it is the weight (50 lbs!!!)...it is waaaay overbuilt. I've attached another pic installed...breaking off and fatique. LMAO (IMG:style_emoticons/default/lol-2.gif)

2) Regarding springs - most street cars will probably want to be in the 300-350 range - the height depends upon your coilovers (probably 8") in the standard teener.

3) You HAVE to change both the cables and the shifter.

4) This isn't an easy swap - if you paying someone to do the work/install - it could get even more pricey. JFYI.

Cracker

Attached Image

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tygaboy
post Oct 6 2019, 09:12 AM
Post #9


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,412
Joined: 6-October 15
From: Petaluma, CA
Member No.: 19,241
Region Association: Northern California



I'd bet that Tony has the market cornered on stress testing the Renegade mount. Between the LS3 and now the LS7, and the serious pace he runs on track, his mount has seen stresses that exceed what a typical street car will see.
Also, there are any number of LS-powered Renegade-based cars out there and I don't believe there are reported failures. I could be wrong, but I haven't heard of any.

Could other designs be "better"? There's always room to improve and Clay's is very nice. If one is a skilled fabricator, or has access to one, then sure, go for it.

But so far, so good on the Renegade design. I'll report back if I have any problems with mine - which has a 1.5" spacer added to it. So I'm likely the best test case for the "too much cantilever" study.
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dakotaewing
post Oct 6 2019, 11:00 AM
Post #10


Home of PHANTOM 914
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,081
Joined: 8-July 03
From: DeSoto, Tx
Member No.: 897



Tony and Clay,

What did each of you do to address the shifter linkage that is attached to this transaxle?
Most transaxles when purchased have the linkage missing, such as mine, and to replace with new factory parts is over $500.
Finding those parts used appears difficult, and there appears to be no after market solutions available. If you can provide a solution or resource it would be a big help.
I'm contemplating building a engine transaxle cradle to simplify installation and removal of an LS/G86 20 combo, but need to resolve the linkage issue.
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cracker
post Oct 6 2019, 11:24 AM
Post #11


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,021
Joined: 2-February 10
From: Atlanta (area)
Member No.: 11,316
Region Association: South East States



I have not seen a used box posted for sale that did NOT include the linkage...that is as long as we talking about the same item. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif)

Cracker

Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tygaboy
post Oct 6 2019, 03:11 PM
Post #12


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,412
Joined: 6-October 15
From: Petaluma, CA
Member No.: 19,241
Region Association: Northern California



Lyle - If you mean the shifter and associated cables, you can get a stock Boxster S shifter and cables on ebay for under $150. Here's one that's available now.

I splurged and got a Numeric shifter and cable set up. Not cheap, but super neat-o!
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
partwerks
post Oct 6 2019, 03:33 PM
Post #13


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,219
Joined: 7-September 06
From: Grand Island, NE
Member No.: 6,787



QUOTE(tygaboy @ Oct 6 2019, 01:11 PM) *

Lyle - If you mean the shifter and associated cables, you can get a stock Boxster S shifter and cables on ebay for under $150. Here's one that's available now.

I splurged and got a Numeric shifter and cable set up. Not cheap, but super neat-o!


What is the numberic shifter?

Other thing I will ask Kennedy, is if the current adapter plate I have will work with the 6 speed? I had it made with the 6 speed bolt pattern also, but if the internals are different, then it may have been a waste of time?

Will an Audi/Passat 6 speed work?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dakotaewing
post Oct 6 2019, 04:45 PM
Post #14


Home of PHANTOM 914
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,081
Joined: 8-July 03
From: DeSoto, Tx
Member No.: 897



Tony and Clay,

The parts that I'm referring to are in this diagram, minus the cables -Attached Image
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cracker
post Oct 6 2019, 05:23 PM
Post #15


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,021
Joined: 2-February 10
From: Atlanta (area)
Member No.: 11,316
Region Association: South East States



Here you go Thom...allot less than $500! $120 and free shipping

Cracker

Ebay #281840553866

Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
partwerks
post Oct 6 2019, 05:36 PM
Post #16


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,219
Joined: 7-September 06
From: Grand Island, NE
Member No.: 6,787



QUOTE(tygaboy @ Oct 6 2019, 01:11 PM) *

Lyle - If you mean the shifter and associated cables, you can get a stock Boxster S shifter and cables on ebay for under $150. Here's one that's available now.

I splurged and got a Numeric shifter and cable set up. Not cheap, but super neat-o!


I'm guessing the main body of the shifter operates differently than the 6, and needs to be changed along with the cables?

How does the Audi/Passat 6 speed compare to the Boxster, or would that even work?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dakotaewing
post Oct 6 2019, 06:01 PM
Post #17


Home of PHANTOM 914
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,081
Joined: 8-July 03
From: DeSoto, Tx
Member No.: 897



Tony,

I have the shift linkage indicated in the second photo minus the cable bracket, which can be bought new for about $40.
What I don't have is in the first photo, which is needed per the PET, from what I can see.
Am I wrong?

PS - Sorry for the highjack -


Attached image(s)
Attached Image Attached Image
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
914forme
post Oct 6 2019, 06:03 PM
Post #18


Times a wastin', get wrenchin'!
****

Group: Members
Posts: 3,327
Joined: 24-July 04
From: Dayton, Ohio
Member No.: 2,388



Generally the same, slight difference in CV flanges, shifter mechanisms maybe? One true difference if you can find one is get the one out of a TDI, taller gears, diesels make torques, and do not like to spin fast, thus taller gearing.

Sad news they are darn near unattainable in the states, VW never imported a 6 speed TDI Passat for public consumption. You need to find people over in the UK that will be willing to send one over. TDIclub has a couple importers in the vendor section that will do that. Canada might also be a shot.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ClayPerrine
post Oct 6 2019, 06:30 PM
Post #19


Wasting away again in NineFourteenerville.
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 10,188
Joined: 11-September 03
From: Hurst, TX.
Member No.: 1,143
Region Association: NineFourteenerVille



The G86-21 transmission has different cable attachments. And they all came with the transmission, so I didn't have to buy anything extra.

Attached Image

I had to alter the cable attachment points because they interfered with the starter. From the factory the cable pulls the bellcrank which works the left/right gate selection. That cable now runs across the top and pulls directly on the arm without any bell cranks.

(IMG:http://www.914world.com/bbs2/uploads/post-1143-1566359350.jpg)
(IMG:http://www.914world.com/bbs2/uploads/post-1143-1566697652.jpg)

Doing that prevents using the stock boxster/cayman shifter.

For a V-8 car, you wouldn't have to do this, so the stock shifter would work.

I have been told the G86-20 transmission is stronger than the G86-21. But the G86-21 was used in the GT4, so I figure it is strong enough for me.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tygaboy
post Oct 6 2019, 06:33 PM
Post #20


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,412
Joined: 6-October 15
From: Petaluma, CA
Member No.: 19,241
Region Association: Northern California



[quote name='partwerks' date='Oct 6 2019, 02:33 PM' post='2752706']

[/quote]

What is the numberic shifter?

[/quote]

This is the Numeric shifter.


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
3 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
1 Members: bdstone914

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th October 2019 - 10:53 AM