Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: No title in Cali
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Mike1981
Hello Everyone

Hoping for some advice...

Saw this ad and spoke to the owner about it.

http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?showtopic=357906

Have not seen it in person but thinking about buying and converting it to a street car.

I am new to Cali and wondering how painful would it be to register this for a title through the DMV

I believe its old enough not to need a smog test.

Current owner has had it for 1.5 years probably not plated or registered

Thanks for any advice

Mike
JeffBowlsby
Those of us in California do not refer to our state as Cali.
Blue6
Mike,
I bought a 914 race car and returned it to street legal. First, get the VIN have DMV or Auto Club ( if your a member) run it for back fees. If the current owner didn’t non-op it before turning it into a track car there can be hundreds of $$ in back fees and fines. Mine ended up being $672. Second, use one of those private registration services. They don’t charge a hell of a lot, but will save you numerous trips to DMV. Ask your insurance company if they need to inspect it before insuring it. It took me three visits to Auto Club before they would insure it. You need insurance to get it registered. Be patient, but it is possible.
infraredcalvin
That’s a 1976 MY according to the vin sticker. Unless there are stamped vins elsewhere on the car that start with 475…. You’re outa luck, car needs smog in CA = RUN AWAY!!!
Mike1981
HAHA Jeff my mistake only been here 4 months

So California it is Sir.

Regards

Mike

QUOTE(JeffBowlsby @ Jan 23 2022, 12:08 AM) *

Those of us in California do not refer to our state as Cali.

Mike1981
Thanks Blue6

Did not know it was this involved I will run the VIN

MIke

QUOTE(Blue6 @ Jan 23 2022, 01:01 AM) *

Mike,